Print this Page
  • Text Size
  • A
  • A
  • A


Branford is governed by a Board of Selectmen, a Representative Town Meeting (“RTM”), and a Board of Finance constituting a Selectmen/Board of Finance/RTM form of government.

The administration of town affairs lies with the three member Board of Selectmen. The First Selectman is the town's Chief Executive Officer and highest elected official.  The Board of Selectmen generally meet the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of every month.

The Board of Finance consists of six members who are appointed by the Board of Selectmen.  No more than three can be members of the same political party.

The RTM, the town’s legislative body is made up of thirty elected members representing seven voting districts. The members of the RTM choose one of their members to be Moderator of the RTM, who presides over all its meetings.  The RTM meets the 2nd Wednesday of every month.

The legislative power of the Town is vested exclusively in the RTM, except as otherwise provided for by the electors.  The RTM has the power to enact, amend, or repeal ordinances not inconsistent with the Charter or the General Statues of the State of Connecticut.  The electors have the power to approve or reject an ordinance by referendum, as provided in the Charter.  The Board of Finance prepares the annual budget for recommendation to the RTM and sets the mill rate, as prescribed by the Town Charter.

General Town elections are held  on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of each odd numbered year to elect the Board of Selectmen, Town Treasurer, Tax Collector, Town Clerk and members of the RTM.  Their terms of office are for two years.


Town Hall Address: 1019 Main Street, Branford, CT 06405 Phone: (203) 488-8394 Business Hours: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm, Monday-Friday